A newly discovered love

Even though I have started this blog adventure with crochet in mind, I always knew it would not be limited to that theme alone. My focus tends to flow around several suspects. And every once in a while I find something new to be the center of my attention.  So while reading posts about crochet around this blog world, I have discovered a little (or maybe not so little) doll called Blythe. I have Olive from Knotted things to thank for this discovery and I’m very happy to have found her blog!

This doll was completely unknown to me till November of 2015 and since then I’ve been reading quite a bit about it. There are many articles that tell the story of this doll, so I won’t be going over that. Instead I will show the little one I will be receiving in the mail in the next few weeks (I hope!). Her birth name is Jane Lefroy and she was released last year, in March.

20150227_janelefroy_01

I haven’t decided on her name yet. I think it’s between Alma and Amelia. Both names suit her very well. The thing I love the most is the hair, color and shape, but I really love everything about her with one small exception. I’m not particularly found of the orange color of one of her eye sets but that may change once I have her. For those that don’t know, these dolls have an eye mechanism that allows us to change between four colors (two looking front, one looking left and one looking right).

Jane-eye-colors

I have been busy looking around Etsy and sundries groups and have already bought a couple of things for my doll: a few socks, a cute dress, some stock items from other Blythe releases and shoes. The shoes haven’t arrived yet!

Clothes

I haven’t gotten a lot of things for two reasons. One, most of the clothes I like are quite expensive! Ouch! Second, I plan to make clothes for my doll and there’s a buuunch of things that I want to try between crochet and sewing! Maybe some knitting too (eventually).

I have to confess that crafting for her is actually one of the things that attracts me the most about this hobby. I have a few free Blythe patterns to try, a few patterns that I bought (for myself) to adapt to the doll size but mostly I want to design my own patterns, after finding my style. I think it is going to be a tough thing to do since there are many awesome designers for Blythe that have wonderful clothes and one has to stay away from their own signature! In the meantime, I’ve cut and started sewing a little skirt but I’m only going to finish it once I have the doll, because I want to be sure that it fits like I want it to fit. Here’s how it is looking right now:

skirt-sneakpeak

 

Now all that is left is for my doll to arrive! Does it show how excited I am?  *giggles*

 

2 thoughts on “A newly discovered love

  1. Yay!! I can’t wait to see photos of your Jane Lefroy when she gets to you! I’ve been meaning to sew clothes for my dolls too, and I did try… But I tend to not pay enough attention and I ended up sewing up a side I wasn’t supposed to… And then I rage quit. For me Maybe it’s best to leave it to the people who know what they’re doing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m not an expert when it comes to sewing and I tend to sew by hand the small things I usually do. I only bought my sewing machine last year but my uncle is a tailor and I used to play on his shop since I was a kid. The amount of work to make a suit is crazy!

      I’m sure we can dig up some simple patterns to start! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

